Mari Jungstedt Books in Order

The Mari Jungstedt books have become so popular over the years that generation after generation, people keep going back to them.

If you're just starting with it and want a reading list, you're in luck. Here we list out all the Mari Jungstedt books in order; keeping in mind various factors like the publication year, reviews, its popularity among readers, etc.

It’s always a good idea to read such book titles in sequence so that you don't miss out on the story plot and its discussions in the book clubs.

Publication Order of Inspector Anders Knutas Books

Unseen

Mari Jungstedt 2006

Swedish crime at its best---dark, atmospheric, and chilling The island of Gotland is in the middle of a busy tourist season and getting ready for Midsummer, the 4th of July of Swedish holidays, when a young woman and her dog are found brutally murdered.

The dog has been beheaded and is missing a paw; the woman is naked, covered in gruesome axe wounds, and her panties have been stuffed in her mouth.            What looks like a crime committed by the victim's jealous husband keeps the local police force on their toes.

Then a second victim is found. A serial killer terrorizes tourists and locals alike, and Inspector Anders Knutas has to face additional pressure from the media and local politicians who are worried about bad PR for the island. In his quest for the murderer, he is aided by Johan Berg, an intrepid young journalist from Stockholm who has been sent to cover the incidents and who gets involved with Emma, one of the first victim's close friends.

Three women die before Knutas and Berg, each approaching the case in their own way, finally close in on the killer, who has always, until now, been the one unseen by everybody.Jungstedt has written an atmospheric and exciting first mystery in clear, unadorned prose, in the tradition of Henning Mankell, Håkan Nesser, and Karin Fossum.

 

Read More

Unspoken

Mari Jungstedt 2007

It is winter on Gotland, and fourteen-year-old Fanny is missing. She had no friends to speak of other than the horses she took care of at the local racing stable, and seems to have been an unhappy and isolated teenager, the daughter of an absent Jamaican musician and an instable Swedish mother.

Is her disappearance somehow connected to the recent brutal murder of alcoholic photographer Henry Dahlström, who had won a large sum of money at the racetrack right before his death? Inspector Anders Knutas and his team investigate under pressure from the media.

            Fanny is finally found, strangled to death and left on a lonely heath, covered by moss and branches. At the same time, grainy but explicit photographs of the girl with a stranger are discovered, hidden in Dahlström's darkroom.

Intrepid TV journalist Johan Berg, sent from Stockholm to cover the two deaths, pushes the investigation one decisive step ahead while still trying to resolve his relationship with Emma, which has been simmering since they first met during the investigation into a series of murders on Gotland this past summer.

            All evidence points to one of Fanny's coworkers at the stable, an American who has left the country for a short vacation. As Knutas and his team wait for his return to make the arrest, the inspector takes a well-deserved weekend off with an old friend, and at the lonely cottage in the woods, the pieces finally fit together.

But this time, Knutas has gotten too close. . . .

Read More

The Inner Circle

Mari Jungstedt 2008

The Inner Circle opens with an international group of young archeology students sweating on a dig on the island of Gotland, uncovering a Viking fortification dating back over a millennium. They are a fun-loving lot, partying together every night, but the good vibe turns to horror when one of them, twenty-one-year-old Martina Flochten, disappears.

Her body is found a short while later, naked, bled out, and hanging from a tree. Her injuries indicate that she is the victim of a ritual killing.Inspector Anders Knutas investigates Martina’s acquaintances. Who was the mysterious lover she was supposed to have been meeting in secret and whom none of her fellow archaeologists have actually seen? What do the marks on Martina’s body signify? Is there possibly a connection between Martina’s death and the recent and unsolved brutal beheading of a Gotland pony? The pony was also bled out, and its head was missing---until it appears mounted on a stick outside the next victim’s house.

Inspector Knutas and his team work feverishly to catch the killer, but before long there are more victims, all of whom have been killed and mutilated the same way.Mari Jungstedt integrates a healthy dose of Scandinavian mythology in this installment of her critically acclaimed series, and also addresses current issues on Gotland, while keeping up a fast-paced and intricate plot as Knutas closes in on the killer and the secret that connects the victims.

This is Swedish crime fiction at its best: dark, atmospheric, and character-driven. 

Read More

The Killer's Art

Jungstedt, Mari 2010

'One of Scandinavia's best crime writers' The TimesIt is a cold wintry morning in the picturesque port town of Visby when art dealer Egon Wallin's battered and naked body is found hanging from a gate in the town's old city walls. His was a very public death, but who killed him and whyAs Inspector Knutas begins his investigation, Egon's secrets quickly begin to come to the surface.

He died on the eve of leaving his wife. Is his death a spurned lover's revenge And when a painting by a new cause-clbre artist is stolen from his gallery, more questions are raised.Another theft and another death, this time in Stockholm, widens the search for the killer.

As the police piece together the clues, one scandal is followed by another and Inspector Knutas will discover that beneath the patina of glamour, the high-society world of art collecting hides many secrets - some worth killing for.

Read More

The Fourth Victim

Jungstedt, Mari 2016

A violent robbery. A hit-and-run. A brutal murder.In the stifling heat of an August morning on the beautiful Swedish island of Gotland, terror shatters the calm.An armed robbery is over in minutes, leaving a little girl on the road, hit by the getaway car.

Desperate to find those responsible, the police track down one of the culprits. But he is dead, brutally murdered at a remote farm. Tattooed on his arm are three initials: his own and two others. The only clues to the identity of his friends.As the hunt to find the remaining two robbers intensifies, there’s every chance the murderer is on their trail too.

Can Detective Superintendent Knutas beat them to it?

Read More

Publication Order of Canary Island Books

A Darker Sky

Jungstedt, Mari 2014

Murder is killing the mood at a yoga tourist destination.As dawn breaks on the Canary Islands, a fisherman discovers a woman lying dead on the rocks nearby, her body arranged like a piece of art. To solve the case, Chief Inspector Diego Quintana gets unexpected help from Swedish journalist Sara Moberg, who runs the Scandinavian newspaper on the island, as well as from handsome former investigator Kristian Wede.

But not even that can stop the killer from striking again.As the death toll rises, the mood darkens, and Sara and Kristian race to find the killer before another tourist falls prey. But who is the culprit—an island local with a grudge against the tourists, a visitor on the run from trouble in her home country, the womanizing local yoga instructor, or the person they least suspect?

Read More

And that's the end of the complete list! Now that you have it - the next step for you is to of course purchase them and dive into reading Mari Jungstedt books. Worry not, we've done the tedious job for you and added amazon direct book links including AudioBook, Kindle, Paperback and Hardcover versions as applicable.

Happy reading!


You Might Also Like to Read


Trending Quotes