Judith James Books in Order

The Judith James books have become so popular over the years that generation after generation, people keep going back to them.

If you're just starting with it and want a reading list, you're in luck. Here we list out all the Judith James books in order; keeping in mind various factors like the publication year, reviews, its popularity among readers, etc.

It’s always a good idea to read such book titles in sequence so that you don't miss out on the story plot and its discussions in the book clubs.

Publication Order of Rakes and Rogues of the Restoration Books

Libertine's Kiss

James, Judith 2010

Abandoned by his cavalier father at a young age, William de Veres grew up knowing precious little happiness. But William has put the past firmly behind him and as a military hero and noted rake, he rises fast in the ranks of the hedonistic Restoration court.

Though not before he is forced to seek shelter from a charming young Puritan woman…The civil wars have cost the once-high-spirited Elizabeth Walters her best friend and her father, leaving her unprotected and alone. She flees an unwanted marriage, seeking safe haven, but what she finds is something she never expected.

When her kindness and her beauty bring her to the attention of William, and then the king, she will have a choice to make. After all, can a notorious libertine really be capable of love?

Read More

Soldier of Fortune: The King's Courtesan

James, Judith 2011

Her body is the battlegroundSensuous, beautiful and determined, Hope Matthews is a favored mistress of the king. Her many charms have helped her rise from the gutter to the king's bed. But with the new queen's impending arrival, her nights in the royal chamber-- and her hopes for security--will swiftly come to an end.

His honor a distant memoryHaunted by his past, hardened by the recent civil war, Captain Robert Nichols lives only for revenge. When told he must marry the king's courtesan to provide a cover for their affair, he's faced with a new low. Both are pawns of a great man, but married to their dreams of independence, their clash is inevitable.

Can these two wounded souls realize the answer to all their dreams might lie in each other's arms?

Read More

The Highwayman

James, Judith 2014

“Rooted in an authentic historical setting, this thrilling tale of passion and adventure will leave you breathless.” -Sabrina Jeffries, NYT bestselling author "A new historical by Judith James is always drop-everything-else-and-devour time for me, and the third entry in her Rakes and Rogues of the Restoration series is no exception.

Ms. James never fails to deliver a compelling romance between two complex protagonists wrapped in you-are-there history, a winning combination." HEROES AND HEARTBREAKERS BEST READS 2014 Anna Bowling HOW EASILY ONE’S HEART CAN BE STOLEN... DEPENDS UPON THE THIEF England, 1680 Some call him Gentleman Jack; others know him as Swift Nick.

The only name Jack Nevison never uses is the one left to him by his abusive sire. Jack wants nothing to do with his heritage; instead, he preys on the wealthy, stealing coin (and the occasional kiss) on England’s darkest roads. Jack’s dangerous deeds are legend, yet the thrill of a highwayman’s life is growing cold.

Beautiful and bold, Arabella Hamilton may come from the world Jack despises, but she’s a kindred spirit at heart. When circumstances bring them together the sparks ignite, yet they remain on opposite sides of society and the law, and with each encounter, they risk more.

To be together, one of them will have to give up their world forever. A Heroes and Heartbreakers Years Best Read, The Highwayman concludes Judith James's Rakes and Rogues of the Restoration series. The adventures and exploits of real-life highwayman Swift Nick Nevison and the observations and writings of 17th century travel writer Celia Fiennes are woven throughout this tale, which takes the reader from the privileged world of London’s aristocracy to the highways and byways, inns and hunting grounds of some of England’s most celebrated rogues.

Winner of IPPY Gold for the critically acclaimed Broken Wing and author of Highland Rebel, a Barnes and Noble and Dear Author book of the year, award-winning author Judith James’ Rakes and Rogues of the Restoration series transports you to the thrilling days of highwaymen, cavaliers, courtiers, and spies.

Those who enjoy the historical breadth of Elizabeth Chadwick or Phillipa Gregory, the sizzle of Elizabeth Hoyt, the depth of story and characterization of Mary Jo Putney or Laura Kinsale, and the bad boy heroes of Anne Stuart, will find much to love when they discover Judith James.

Rich with history and sizzling with passion, these are love stories you won’t soon forget! Don't miss the other books in this series Libertine's KissSoldier of Fortune (The King's Courtesan)

Read More

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Broken Wing

James, Judith 2008

Set during the chaotic beginnings of Napoleon's rule, this saga tells the story of Gabriel St. Croix, a street survivor searching for a place to belong. Abandoned as a child and raised in a brothel, he has never known friendship or affection. Hiding physical and emotional scars behind an icy façade, his only relationship is with a young boy he has spent the last five years protecting from the brutal reality of their environment.

But all that is about to change. The boy's family has found him, and they are coming to take him home. Sarah Munroe blames herself for her brother's disappearance. When he's located, safe and unharmed despite where he has been living, Sarah vows to help the man who rescued and protected him in any way she can.

With loving patience she helps Gabriel face his demons and teaches him to trust in friendship and love. But when the past catches up with him, Gabriel must face it on his own. Becoming a mercenary, pirate, and professional gambler, he travels to London, France, and the Barbary Coast in a desperate attempt to find Sarah again.

On the way, however, he will discover the most dangerous journey and the greatest gamble of all is within the darkest reaches of his own heart.

Read More

Highland Rebel

James, Judith 2009

A love story set against the backdrop of Restoration England, Jacobite Scotland and Ireland, and the rise and fall of kings, by an award-winning author.Amidst the upheaval of the first Jacobite war in 17th century Britain, Jamie Sinclair's wit and military prowess have served him well.

Leading a troop in Scotland, he impetuously marries a captured maiden, saving her from a grim fate.A Highlands heiress to title and fortune, Catherine Drummond is not the friendless woman Jamie believed her to be. When her people effect her rescue, and he cannot annul the marriage, Jamie determines to recapture his hellcat of a new wife.

In a world where family and creed cannot be trusted, where faith fuels intolerance and war, Catherine and Jamie test the bounds of love, loyalty, friendship, and trust...

Read More

And that's the end of the complete list! Now that you have it - the next step for you is to of course purchase them and dive into reading Judith James books. Worry not, we've done the tedious job for you and added amazon direct book links including AudioBook, Kindle, Paperback and Hardcover versions as applicable.

Happy reading!

You Might Also Like to Read

Trending Quotes