Blandings Castle Books in Order

The Blandings Castle books have become so popular over the years that generation after generation, people keep going back to them.

If you're just starting with it and want a reading list, you're in luck. Here we list out all the Blandings Castle books in order; keeping in mind various factors like the publication year, reviews, its popularity among readers, etc.

It’s always a good idea to read such book titles in sequence so that you don't miss out on the story plot and its discussions in the book clubs.

Publication Order of Blandings Castle Books

Something Fresh

P. G. Wodehouse 1915

This is a Blandings novel. This is the first Blandings novel, in which P.G. Wodehouse introduces us to the delightfully dotty Lord Emsworth, his bone-headed younger son, the Hon. Freddie Threepwood, his long-suffering secretary, the Efficient Baxter, and Beach the Blandings butler.

As Wodehouse wrote, 'without at least one impostor on the premises, Blandings Castle is never itself'. In "Something Fresh" there are two, each with an eye on a valuable scarab which Lord Emsworth has acquired without quite realizing how it came into his pocket.

But of course things get a lot more complicated than this...

Read More

Summer Lightning / Fish Preferred

P. G. Wodehouse 1929

"In Summer Lightning, the Honorable Galahad Threepwood has decided to write his memoirs and everyone dives for cover; "Psmith in the City finds the inimitable Psmith working a bank and determined not to let honest toil depress him; and the ten stories in "Ukridge revolve around Stanley Featherstonehough Ukridge's none-too-successful schemes to make some money.

Read More

Heavy Weather

P. G. Wodehouse 1933
It's Heavy Weather for Lord Emsworth and the Empress, especially with the appalling Sir Gregory Parsloe-Parsloe snooping around with designs on the prize pig. Read More

Blandings Castle and Elsewhere

Wodehouse, P. G. 1935

“I envy those who’ve never read [Wodehouse] before―the prospect of reams of unread Wodehouse stretching out in front of you is . . . something which is enticing to contemplate.” ―Tony Blair Welcome to Blandings Castle, home of the well-intentioned but often distracted Lord Emsworth―and there are quite a few distractions at this stately country house.

Head gardener Angus McAllister has resigned before the Shrewsbury Agricultural Show, when Emsworth needs him most; Lady Constance, Emsworth’s officious sister, has caged her daughter in the castle to keep her away from the persistent Beefy Bingham; and the Blandings pigman, Wellbeloved, has been sent to prison for drunken and disorderly conduct just days before Emsworth’s adored sow can win first prize at the 87th Annual Shropshire Show.

Through P.G. Wodehouse’s expert wit, we witness Lord Emsworth trying to solve these predicaments and others, with the unexpected help (and hindrance) of a lively array of characters.

Read More

Lord Emsworth and Others / The Crime Wave at Blandings

P. G. Wodehouse 1937
In Lord Emsworth and Others, readers are treated to a selection of familiar characters and places, in new and unfamiliar circumstances. Fans and initiates will be highly entertained. Read More

Full Moon

P. G. Wodehouse 1947

Despite marriage to a millionaire’s daughter and success as a vice-president of Donaldson’s Inc., manufacturers of the world-famous Donaldson’s Dog-Joy, Freddie Threepwood, Lord Emsworth’s younger son, still goes in fear of his aunts when at Blandings Castle.

Full Moon tells the story of how he faces them down while promoting the love of Bill Lister and Prudence Garland. A charming Blandings comedy with a full Wodehouse complement of aunts, pigs, millionaires, colonels, imposters and dotty earls.

Read More

Pigs Have Wings

Wodehouse, P.G. 1952
Pigs rise above their bulk to vanish and reappear in the most unlikely places, while young lovers are crossed and recrossed in every room in Blandings Castle. Read More

Galahad at Blandings / The Brinkmanship of Galahad Threepwood

Wodehouse, P.G. 1964

P. G. Wodehouse is recognized as the greatest English comic writer of the twentieth century. His characters and settings have entered our language and our mythology. Launched on the twenty-fifth anniversary of his death, the Overlook Wodehouse will eventually contain all the novels and stories, edited and reset.

Each Overlook volume will be the finest edition of the master ever published . . . and we're over two-thirds of the way there! In Galahad at Blandings, Lord Emsworth's idyllic demesne, Blandings Castle, is as usual overrun with overbearing sisters, overefficient secretaries, and the lovestruck; even worse, an alleged old flame has appeared, determined to put an end to the Earl's peaceful, pig-loving existence.

All Galahad's genius is required to sort things out satisfactorily.

Read More

A Pelican at Blandings

Wodehouse, P.G. 1969
Crisis, wearing a variety of habits, saunters in to Castle Blandings and upsets the hard-won applecart of the peace-loving thirteenth earl. Read More

The World of Blandings

Wodehouse, P. G. 1976
An omnibus edition containing two of the early Blandings novels, 'Something Fresh', 'Summer Lightning', and three short stories. Read More

Sunset at Blandings

Wodehouse, P.G. 1977

With the sun finally setting on that wondrous earthy paradise that is Blandings, Vicky Underwood finds herself forcibly parted from her beloved, Jeff Bennison. Her Uncle Galahad turns his not inconsiderable talents to reuniting the love-birds. Wodehouse's final chronicle of Blandings is unfinished, but three Wodehouse admirers have supplied a treasure trove of notes and plot details, providing fascinating insights into the mind of the author.

Read More

And that's the end of the complete list! Now that you have it - the next step for you is to of course purchase them and dive into reading Blandings Castle books. Worry not, we've done the tedious job for you and added amazon direct book links including AudioBook, Kindle, Paperback and Hardcover versions as applicable.

Happy reading!

You Might Also Like to Read

Trending Quotes